This site uses cookies to enhance navigation. If you continue with your visit, you accept the use of cookies and privacy policy.


32nd International Conference on Surface Modification Technologies

JUNE 27-29 2018

Gipuzkoa Science and Technology Park

CIDETEC Surface Engineering



Dr. Eva García-Lecina


Dr. Gemma Vara


Dr. T.S. Sudarshan

More information

The annual International Conference on Surface Technology provides a forum for bringing together all hot topics within the field of surface engineering with the aim of fostering research on surface engineering, promoting related international cooperation among scientists and engineers and providing means for the public dissemination of the results from these efforts.

The most recent developments in surface modification technologies and their industrial applications will be presented and discussed at the conference.


Registration opening

6th November 2017

Abstract submission deadline

20th March 2018

Notification of acceptance

13th April 2018

Early bird registration

Up to 13th April 2018

Author registration

1st June 2018


Local organizing committee

  • García, M. Belén (Spain)
  • García-Lecina, Eva (Chair) (Spain)
  • Grande, Hans-Jürgen (Spain)
  • Muñoz, Josemari (Spain)
  • Tena, Ramón (Spain)
  • Vara, Gemma (Chair) (Spain)

Scientific committee

  • Aranzabe, Ana (Spain)
  • Baumgärtner, Manfred (Germany)
  • Becker-Willinger, Carsten (Germany)
  • Brizuela , Marta (Spain)
  • Bund, Andreas (Germany)
  • Dietz, Andreas (Germany)
  • Dosta, Sergi (Spain)
  • Dwyer-Joyce, Rob (UK)
  • Etxeberria, Alberto (Spain)
  • García, M. Belén (Spain)
  • García-Lecina, Eva (Chair) (Spain)
  • Grande, Hans-Jürgen (Spain)
  • Guagliano, Mario (Italy)
  • Krastev , Ivan (Bulgary)
  • Lasagni, Andrés (Germany)
  • Leisner, Peter (Sweden)
  • Lekka , Maria ( Italy)
  • Magagnin, Luca (Italy)
  • Marqués, Ana (Portugal)
  • Müller , Carlos M. (Spain)
  • Muñoz, Josemari (Spain)
  • Pané , Salvador (Switzerland)
  • Pavlatou , Evangelina (Greece)
  • Pellicer, Eva (Spain)
  • Quadakkers, Willem J. (Germany)
  • Rod, Olivier (Sweden)
  • Shrestha, Suman (UK)
  • Sort, Jordi (Spain)
  • Staia, Mariana (Venezuela)
  • Sudarshan, T.S. (USA)
  • Tena, Ramón (Spain)
  • Vara, Gemma (Chair) (Spain)
  • Vassen, Robert (Germany)
  • Vitry, Véronique (Belgium)
  • Zanella, Caterina (Sweden)
  • Zheludkevich , Mikhail (Germany)

EAST- Schwäbisch Gmünd Prize for Young Scientists

The mission of the European Academy of Surface Technology (east) is to promote Europe-wide science, re-search, training and education in the field of surface technology and related areas in order to contribute to the integration, understanding and friendship between European people and individuals.

In the spirit of the mission of east, the Schwäbisch Gmünd Prize has been established with the purpose to encourage promising young scientists within surface technology to continue their career in the spirit of east.

The prize is given in the name of the town Schwäbisch Gmünd, where east has had its headquarter since its foundation in 1989. The town of Schwäbisch Gmünd has always been a strong support for east and has a long tradition of craftsmanship of precious metals. The Schwäbisch Gmünd Prize was given for the first time 2017, and is going to be awarded every year to promising young scientist.

Don't wait, Register now!



Includes conference proceedings, book of abstracts, participation on oral and poster sessions, welcome drink, lunches, coffee breaks, technical/cultural visit and conference dinner.



Includes conference proceedings, book of abstracts, participation on oral and poster sessions, welcome drink, lunches, coffee breaks, technical/cultural visit.



Includes welcome drink, excursion, guided visits in San Sebastian, conference dinner.

* VAT is not included

Register Now


Registration for the SMT32 Conference is closed.

A big player in Surface Engineering

The core of an innovation hub specialized in Surface Engineering.

4,000 m2 of facilities equipped with cutting edge technology and a staff of more than 75 research specialists.

  • 11 Patents

  • Staff over 75

  • 3 new technologybased companies:INNOMAT, KERA-COAT, TUBA-COAT

+ info

Dr. T.S. Sudarshan

Dr. T.S. Sudarshan is the President and CEO of Materials Modification, Inc. He has a PhD from Virginia Tech and has been responsible for driving the company’s technological leadership in the development of next generation materials, processes and techniques for the past 31 years. He has been a passionate entrepreneur and provided employment to over 400 individuals, provided the first jobs for over 180 students, served on over 10 thesis committees for M,S. and Ph.D’s. Dr Sudarshan has served on the National Materials Advisory Board, Ohio Third Frontier Committees, ASM International Board, Committees for the Army, NSF, NIH and DoE. He has over 180 papers, editor of two journals – Materials and Manufacturing Processes and Surface Engineering, coeditor of 34 books, holder of 29 patents, winner of two R and D 100 awards, Fellow of ASM International, Fellow of IFHTSE, Fellow of IMMM, UK, and Distinguished Alumni of IITM. He has been responsible for heading the development of 18 products and has worked in difficult to solve problems in the area of nanotechnology and surface engineering. He is currently on the Advisory Board of ATI, South Carolina.